Harry Styles’s Harry Styles.

I know the album came out two month ago, and I know people have already hyped about it but since I’ve been busy with uni and exams(law is not easy folks), I haven’t been able to properly take my time and write about it. So here is my album review of Harry Styles’s Harry Styles.
Harry-Styles-album-art-2017-billboard-1548

I like that this album is self-titled, you know why? Because I feel like this album reflects exactly how we have seen Harry’s personality as we know it.

Let’s break it down track by track.

1. Meet me in the hallway.
I liked how the guitar started in the beginning, the rhythm was very soothing. The first time I heard this song, the line “I gotta get better, gotta get better and maybe we’ll work it out” is what got stuck in my head and I personally feel this very line reflects the whole song very aptly as well.

The little squeaky sound while he sings maybe is what’s pretty beautiful as well. Maybe I’m reading too much into it, but the fact that this song is about him still wanting to be in a relationship because it was the only thing making him feel better and then him asking his ex to ‘meet him in the hallway’ metaphorically, is his attempt to make himself feel happy again for he thinks that maybe the reason why he’s not feeling good lately is because he lost the relationship and that person was the one who was the reason for that, and maybe when they work it out he’ll get better again. That unsure maybe is him, confused and thinking that his happiness depended on that person.

It’s a nice start to the album.

2. Sign of the times.
This song was a roller-coaster.

When I first listened to it, I was amazed at how different it sounded from what I’ve been accustomed to hear Harry in, be it the sound or music or lyrics. The song gave me goosebumps, I loved it so much it’s hard to explain it in words.

This song takes me into a different world, even my little brother loves it. And when we got to know it was about how a mother is told after childbirth that the child is fine, but you’re not going to make it and that she only has five minutes to tell the child, ‘Go forth and conquer’ changed the whole dynamic of the song. I teared up listening to it after knowing it’s true meaning.

“You can’t bribe the door on your way to the sky” is such a sad line, it just perfectly reflects people’s feeling who die at ages unexpected that they must want to let their loved ones know that ‘if there was a way to bribe death and stay here with you, I would gladly be corrupt’ but they can’t. It just…it hits me right into the heart.

There are so many other little things about this song that makes it so beautiful, I could probably write an essay on it but not right now.

Harry’s vocals on this song are perfect for this raw and emotional ballad. The music is amazing, I would recommend watching the live performance of the song a 100% because it gives added edge to the song and also, Harry’s band’s drummer is just amazing.

This song it so chaotically sad, it makes me happy. Sad music makes me happy, but that’s another blog’s story.

3. Carolina.

“I met her once and wrote a song about her”

Don’t we all need to find a person that inspires us that much just in a single meeting? Be it someone who becomes a permanent person in our lives or just a stranger who will remain in our memories forever. As soon the music started an instant smile appeared on my face. This is just a fun, lighthearted song as opposed to Sign of The Times.

The “la la la la la la la la la la”  is like the cheery on top of this song.

This song is just so laid back, fun, interesting as it is explained by him describing this amazing girl he met who he can’t get out of his head. It’s just great.

4. Two Ghosts.

This song is about how people change with time, sometimes we may want to hold onto to something that we felt in the past but it is not that simple. The line ‘Sounds like something that I used to feel,But I can’t touch what I see.’ perfectly sums up that once you and your partner have walked out of your relationship, the past memories as pleasing as they maybe, cannot be incorporated into your present because both of you have changed as people. It’s nothing to be sad about but it’s also not something you can completely block out of your head.

This song is all about how you can still have your memories from the past but just because it was happy back then does not mean that if you re-create those situations in your present, it’s going to be the same.

“We’re not who we used to be”

I think the song is beautiful but most importantly, the music and the whole aura of the song is just something that I absolutely love. Do watch the acoustic live performance of the song Harry did on The Late Late show, it’s beautiful.

5. Sweet Creature.
This is one of my favorites. It’s a beautiful song, apparently about a young couple facing some problems in their relationship but for me this song holds a completely different.

This song is about my family, personally.
‘Oh, we started,
Two hearts in one home
It’s hard when we argue
We’re both stubborn
I know, but oh
Sweet creature, sweet creature
Wherever I go, you bring me home’

The lyrics define my relationship with my mum, my dad and my brother, individually. Truthfully speaking, when I heard the chorus I was captivated by the words and it brought a feeling of elation because it sums up my relationship with my family so beautifully.

We are stubborn people, all of us but we are each other’s home.

For this song, I just want to thank Harry Styles.

6. Only Angel.
As soon as the song started, I was confused as hell.

It starts with the music of sign of the times, and faintly in the background of it, this song’s music is also playing and a computerized voice speaks “I saw an angel, I really saw an angel”

I was like “What is happening here?” I thought maybe this song will be about the baby’s perspective who lived after his mother’s death in sign of the times, how he remembers his mother as a faint angel who, before dying, gave his/her life a purpose.

Boy was I wrong. hahaha

Suddenly an “oww!” comes and this song changes from ethereal to rollicking in 0.1 seconds. Basically, the song is about how a person dated a girl, they thought she was amazing and in the beginning of their dating period were actually looking for something that could turn serious but soon they found out that’s not the case because he “Couldn’t take you home to mother in a skirt that short, But I think that’s what I like about it”

The song has a sexual tone to it because “it turns out she’s a devil in between the sheets, And there’s nothing she can do about it” He knows she’s trouble but he loves it that way.

My favorite part of the song besides the great music and fun lyrics is the way he sings the line “Wanna die wanna die wanna die tonight” in such a nonchalant way. I love it. Adds more to the meaning behind the song.

This song, along with the whole album really, is definitely one of those songs you just jam to.

7. Kiwi.
I just simply and absolutely love this one. The music is something that will make everyone go crazy, it’s just a given with this song. You cannot not jam to this one, as soon as the first word of the song hits the speakers, you just can’t.

There is so much going on in the lyrics of this song that I don’t want to get into them. If you listen to it, I’m pretty sure you’ll end up having your own little story of what this song is about. I wouldn’t take fun imagination away from you.

It’s such a great fun song.

Here are some fun parts of the lyrics that’ll make you want to listen to the song and think about it-
“She worked her way through a cheap pack of cigarettes
Hard liquor mixed with a bit of intellect” as soon as this line started, I knew I would love this song.

“When she’s alone, she goes home to a cactus
In a black dress, she’s such a such an actress” Go crazy with your interpretations on this one.

Last but not the least- “And now she’s all over me, it’s like I paid for it
It’s like I paid for it, I’m gonna pay for this”

P.S Pay attention to the music, it’s great.

8. Ever since New York.
This one makes you want to wave your head slowly and just close your eyes and listen to it.

This one’s a soft song,it could be about a relationship with a person which he doesn’t want to break knowing it could break him or his relationship with fame as to how media may show him and write about him, not really knowing the truth. The very first line makes you think that way “Tell me something, tell me something
You don’t know nothing, just pretend you do”

The melody of the song, the little harmonizing in it, and the simple yet beautiful lyrics, makes me like it a lot.

And this line “Choose your words, ’cause there’s no antidote” is probably my favorite one in the song.

9. Woman

I absolutely love this song. Honest, clear and such chill yet melancholic vibes, it’s a great song. I love the music and beats of this song immensely.

The second verse of the song which goes like ‘Apologies are never gonna fix this
I’m empty, I know
And promises are broken like a stitch is’ is my absolute favorite part.

Also the way the songs start in which Harry is suggesting that they should look up some romantic comedies to watch, and then when you listen to the song you realise he’s gone through a break up which was because of him, so he’s obviously missing the woman and what do we do when we’re sad, especially over the topic of love? Torture ourselves by watching romantic movies.

10. From the dining table

This song grows on you. It keeps climbing up and up, it would be soon that this would become my all time favorite song, no kidding.

The soft melodies, the pain of an one sided break up, it’s just beautiful. I love this song. I still don’t understand the title though, maybe he wrote it when he was sitting in his dinning table and was thinking about all that’s lost?  Maybe that’s why it’s from the dinning table, like a message for his past lover.

There are two lines specially from this beautiful song that gets me every time, first ‘Comfortable silence is so overrated’ this couldn’t be more accurate. It’s beautiful, I won’t go into details of why this line is so great because that would get too personal but if you relate to it, welcome to the club. Secondly, the line ‘why won’t you ever be the first one to break?’ this line right here puts out the problem that destroys every relationship. The ego of one person as opposed to the vulnerability of another, relationship are delicate things and if you think having an ‘upper hand’ in your relationship is making it ‘work better’ or that you are winning at that ‘game’, I’m sorry to tell you but you are only losing.

Overview:

Throughout this album, Harry has shown so much variety, it’s amazing. Every song has it’s own unique identity and yet somehow everything adds up to one another, compliments on another.

There seems to be a theme in all the songs lyrically speaking but the way each song is crafted is so unique, it’s refreshing.

If I were to be as musically talented as Harry and the people who worked on this album are, this is the kind of music I would make too. That’s how much I love this album.

 

Share your thoughts in the comments! 

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

